My Amazing April. :)

Holy smokes!  What a whirlwind!

I just finished one of the most amazing months of my art career!

It’s a month I’ll never forget because it’s the month when I began my Individual Art classes.  And in April, I had EIGHT of them.  I am so grateful to Pat, Carol, Catherine, Michelle, Erica, and Chris for being my guinea pigs!  So far, so great – I LOVE teaching these one-on-one (or sometimes two) workshops.  Not only does the class taker get all of the supplies to him or herself, but I also get the wonderful experience of getting to know these wonderful folks a little better.  Plus – full disclosure here – I probably learn more than they do.  I mean, if you’ve been reading my posts, you’ve seen their work.  WOWZERS!  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also had two separate shows and receptions in April, and they were back-to-back!  It was a whirlwind weekend!  The first was for my show with my friend Amy Jarvis called “Dog +Wood”, which was held at Glas Coffeehouse in Sheboygan.  We had an amazing turnout and so much fun with friends!  Sadly, neither Amy nor I took any photos of the evening, but my fabulous husby Brian came through in the pinch!  😀  Thanks, Brian!  ❤

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also had a reception for my solo exhibit at the Thrasher Opera House in Green Lake the very next evening!  It was such a lovely night.  I was busy talking to friends and new friends the entire two hours!  Maria Diedrich was a perfect host.  Thank you, Maria!  Unfortunately, I also don’t have any photos from that reception, because I was too busy talking!  🙂  So I’ll just show you some from the set-up of this particular show, which is currently running and up through May 27!  If you’re in the Green Lake area, be sure to check it out!  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We had some crazy-good weather in the middle of the month, and it landed perfectly on our Tour the Town night!  I was stationed at Book World this past month, and it was just a beautiful, fun, lucrative evening!  (Those are fun nights, aren’t they, artists?)  😀  Some of my friends from The Reporter came to visit, which was so lovely.  I hadn’t seen them in too long!  (For those of you who don’t know my history, I used to be the Finance Clerk at our local newspaper, The Reporter.  I loved that job but left it to concentrate on my art.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also gave a talk at UW-Oshkosh this month!  My friend Karina Cutler-Lake, who’s a professor there, wanted me to talk about how I incorpoarte maps into my artwork for a class she’s teaching called “Experience Mapping” (where was this class when I was in college?).  I loved it!  I created a Keynote presentation specifically for the class, and the students seemed to enjoy it.  What a lovely way to spend a Thursday morning!  Thanks for asking me, Karina!  🙂

And last, but CERTAINLY not least – I was so totally fortunate to take  the Globe Printing Workshop at Hamilton Woodtype and Printing Museum!!  Oh my heavens – I got to spend the entire day playing with their collection of type and vintage cuts from the now-defunct Globe Printing Co. in Chicago!!  Every time I go there it feels like home.  So not only did I get to make this super cool Record Store Day poster (which happened to be the same day), but I also got to see the most incredible collection of lithographed Russian propaganda posters probably ever assembled.  (They are a museum too, after all!)  What an amazing day!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s events and experiences like this that make my career so unbelievably rewarding.  I will always remember this month as nothing but pure magic.  To be continued!  😀

2 thoughts on “My Amazing April. :)”

  1. Congrats Mel! You deserve all the recognition you get and more. You do so much with and for others to help them get their art out there and promote so many artists and their work. I don’t know where I would be today without you, your help and advice. And now your teaching is expanding on the ideas I first thought of. There are wonderful things to come I just know it. Very happy to have met you, to have followed you and now to be friends with you. Kudos to Brain for being the wonderfully supportive man and husband he is.

    Like

    1. Oh my gosh, Carol. Thank you so very much for your wonderful words of support! 🙂 We artists have to stick together – it’s a career unlike any other and only other artists know what it’s like! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your talents with me! I’m glad we became friends, too! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

