Happy Accidents!

If you’re an artist, then you know the joy that comes from creating a piece that you just know is good.  Many times, those joys arrive in unexpected packages.  🙂

Take, for example, these two pieces!

Mel

I created these two pieces completely by accident!  The first one, which I call “Coral Sea”, was created when I was cleaning my brayer after printing one of my 2X2″ lino blocks.  I love how I got the positive and the negative of the print!

Mel

The second one, which I call “In the Clearing”, was also created after printing a block, but this time I also wiped the sides of my brayer on the sheet of paper, creating “branches”.  And here’s why having another pair of eyes critique your work is so important – when I brought this piece in to Gallery & Frame Shop to be framed, I had it positioned horizontally.  It took owner Julie and designer Rita to say, “This should be vertical!  It looks like the forest!”

VOILA!!!

Because of these two pieces, I now scrutinize every “cleaning” that I’ve done.  Here are a few more of my “accidents”, which I’m seriously thinking of keeping and framing!  🙂

IMG_0116

3 thoughts on “Happy Accidents!”

  1. Have you ever held a rummage sale? I’ve held one at least once every 3-5 years, more often when the kids were little. And the one thing I have learned is…never throw anything away….offer it for sale first. My trash seems to sell better than what I thought was my good stuff….at least when it comes to rummage sales. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I love that, Pat! There is beauty and possibility in the everyday – and one of my favorite parts of being an artist is being able to work with that idea! 😀 P.S. I LOVE your “Cedar” piece that I bought! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

