Encaustic Fun!

As an artist, there are a couple of scents that fuel my desire to create art – block printing ink, glue, old paper – and beeswax.

Oh, that delicious, warm, inviting smell!! I LOVE that natural scent.  And right now, I’m in the thick of it, because I’m taking an encaustic class at the Sharon Lynne Wilson Center for the Arts in Brookfield!  🙂

I have my second of four class sessions tomorrow.  I can’t wait!  Last week was my first and it was fantastic from the first minute I got there.  The instructor, Matt Luther, is one of those instructors who immediately put you at ease.  He has an easygoing style that’s just so conducive to creating!  I strive to be that way when I teach and I hope I succeed.  He’s one to emulate, for sure.

Here are the two pieces that I made during our first session!  I haven’t felt this free during a class in a LONG time.  It was 100% enjoyable!  I’m so looking forward to tomorrow – we’re doing portraits and landscapes!  😀

IMGP8019 IMGP8018

2 thoughts on “Encaustic Fun!”

Leave a Reply

