My first-ever watercolor!

A few weeks ago, my friend Liz posted a photo on Facebook that was absolutely gorgeous!  Here’s that photo:

10922594_10205653485362135_5468290323735409260_n

I loved it so much, I asked for her permission to create some sort of artwork with it.  She very kindly obliged!

I thought about it for about as long, and then yesterday, decided to finally stop thinking about it and just DO it.  So I began my first-ever watercolor with the paint set I had purchased from Jack Richeson in Kimberly, mainly for hand-coloring my linocuts and woodcuts (we’re lucky – the factory warehouse and gallery is only about 45 minutes from my house!).

I even measured and masked out a block on some watercolor paper, also from Richeson’s.  Here’s the result:

IMGP7987

I have to say – for my first painting, I’m happy with it!  And I had so much fun making it, I’m spurred on to make more.  I don’t know where this will take me, but I’m excited to experiment more!  🙂

6 thoughts on “My first-ever watercolor!”

Leave a Reply

